February Favorites

1. Lush Tea Tree Toner Water

lush-tea-tree-water

I always break out on PMS days, and my recent skin outrage went worse than usual. I was getting pimples even after my period was done. Thankfully my fascination over beauty vlogs brought me to discover Lush’s Tea Tree Toner Water. It was recommended by my new favorite YouTuber, Elanna Perchele, and the day after I saw her post, I immediately bought one for myself and have been using it everyday and night since!

I have nothing but pure love for this product. For one, I find that it really helps bring my breakouts to a minimum with its tea tree ingredient, which is well-known for its clarifying and antibacterial properties. Case in point: I’m currently on my PMS week and I haven’t had pimples popping out everyday like they (ab)normally would during this time of the month. And while my face will always and forever be oily (something I have learned to accept over time), it hasn’t been as excessively oily as usual. Plus, it’s super refreshing that with just a few spritz, my face feels instantly cleaner!

Price point is also good. We all know that Lush isn’t the most affordable brand out there but their big bottle at 250g is valued at PHP 625. Not bad, right? Not to mention that it goes a long way! Thanks to its trusty spray-type packaging, I’m estimating each of this bottle to last me at least three months!

How I use this: I use this twice a day, every after washing my face in the morning and before bedtime. I prefer spritzing it directly to my face and letting it dry on its own, as opposed to using cotton pads. This way, I feel like my skin gets to absorb the most it can from the product!

UPDATE: 250g bottle is now at PHP 725 as of March 2017. Huhu!

2. Nature Republic Forest Garden Lip and Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover

nature_481_light-500x500

Another good skincare buy I had last February was my Forest Garden Lip and Eye Remover by Nature Republic. I mentioned over IG stories that one time I was trying to “vlog” that I found it harder than usual to find makeup removers for waterproof eye makeup. For some reason, I can no longer find Bifesta in department stores and all I could see these days are micellar ones which aren’t really that great for stubborn eye makeup, particularly waterproof mascaras. 

So with barely any other options, I went for this catchy green bottle and found later on that I got lucky. Starting off with the fragrance, I say it smells pretty fantastic. It has a faint citrus-y scent that you can only really smell if you intentionally try to do so, and believe me that when you do, you’d want to smell it again and again. 

But what would you do with a good scent if it doesn’t do its primary function well, right? Oh but it does! I don’t have any problems with how it takes out my layers after layers of waterproof mascara. And now, upon checking its ingredient list, I found out it contains a lot of nice-sounding oils! To name a few: grapefruit peel oil, bergamot fruit oil, rose flower oil, etc etc! With all those oils, PHP 395 a bottle at Landmark doesn’t sound so bad at all!

3. Milani Conceal and Perfect Foundation

mpcf-00r_1

For quite some time, I’d been a BB cream girl, trying to veer away from heavy foundations as they’re notorious for clogging pores, hence, breakouts. But I realized that doesn’t always have to be the case. 

You see, I haven’t had a flawless skin ever since I hit age 13 or maybe even 12 or 11. I feel like it’s genetics. And so with textured skin comes the need for greater coverage–definitely greater than a BB cream’s coverage. And I felt like the angels in makeup heaven all sang hallelujah when I got my hands on this highly raved Milani Conceal and Perfect Foundation. 

This foundation is medium coverage but since it’s super buildable, you can just add another layer and voila, full coverage it is! You can even use the second layer as concealer, as suggested by its name. I’m not sure if it’s just the shade I got, but I find that my skin glows when I have this foundation on. 😉

In terms of application, it works wonders with the Beautyblender, although I heard not so much with brushes since consistency is quite thick. I heard, better hands than the brush.

Lastly, since this is a drugstore brand that isn’t being distributed locally yet (why not again?), I got mine at Shopee for just PHP 470! I think it’s priced at $10 in US so given the current dollar exchange, I got mine even cheaper and hassle-free.

4. NARS Unfiltered II Cheek Palette

narsissist-unfiltered-ii-cheek-palette

One afternoon, I was feeling sad and blue and so I entered the NARS popup store in Greenbelt and bought this. Haha. To be honest, I nearly had buyer’s remorse after getting this so impulsively, since I didn’t even weigh this against the Unfiltered I properly. But (!) as I started using this the next few days, I got convinced that it was indeed a great buy. 

nars-unfiltered-cheek-palette-ii-swatches-1440x560
Photo from The Beauty Look Book

The palette has five blushes and one highlighter that’s known as their bestseller. The blush colors, in contrast to Unfiltered I, have cooler tones and I would say are great for warmer skin tones. They could also double as eyeshadows as pigmentation is good, too! And my my my… the packaging is just so pretty and despite the generous amount of product inside, it’s still so compact! It’s a good travel essential in your makeup kit, since you have a good number of blush options plus a highlighter and like I said, they can even double as eyeshadows! 

5. NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer

0607845012344

Along with the Unfiltered II, I also gave in to this cult-favorite liquid concealer from NARS despite its high price point because I said to myself, “Girl, you deserve this and more!” Hahaha! (Now you know why I buy a lot of things. It’s because of these internal dialogues I have with myself.️)

06078450123441
Custard

Back to the concealer– it has a medium to full, buildable coverage. It’s very easy to blend. And just like what its name claims, it gives you a luminous glow especially when applied to the undereye, along your nose bridge, your forehead and chin as highlight! It’s only been with me for a month now so I’ve yet to see how long it’ll last, given my heavy usage. I’m really praying it’ll go a long way!!

6. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.43.19 PM

Lipsticks are always the best products to hoard! Sadly, I’m almost always not so happy with the lip products I end up getting. To be honest, I got quite disappointed with my Colourpop purchases, especially the Ultra Matte ones. They look too flat for me and maybe I’m also at the stage wherein I’ve outgrown that super dry look that was the “in” thing last year. Nowadays I just really want to shine! Hah!

Anyway, I know this lip cream of NYX is also matte but it’s honestly more satin for me that it is matte. Which I like! Application is also a breeze, and when you make a mistake (which I always do), cleaning up is also easy. It also smells pretty good and doesn’t go bad after a while (unlike Sleek — eep!). Price is also very affordable. It sells at PHP 390 in The SM Store and BeautyMNL but recently, I’ve been getting mine from Shopee. I get each for just PHP 280!

The only downside is that it doesn’t last so long on the lips, especially after meals! But at the same time, I like it like that because that means I have to constantly reapply which makes me happy because I enjoy putting on makeup so much that even retouches are fun for me!

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.41.42 PM
Photo from Makeup Shop

So far, my favorite shades include Cannes (the first ever that I liked and have repurchased), Antwerp, and San Paulo! All these are my go-to shades for days I feel/look dull. 🙂

***

Featured image from NARS Cosmetics
One thought on “February Favorites

Leave a Reply

