Canon Pro Night: Fashion Revolution

Exactly a week ago, I was given the privilege to attend Canon Pro Night: Fashion Revolution, as Canon Marketing (Philippines), Inc. (CMPI) celebrated their 2nd Manila Photo Festival. Held at the Samsung Hall in SM Aura, the whole event aimed to shed new light on how fashion photography is supposed to be, with the aid of diverse portfolio lenses, accessories, and printers offered by none other than the leading imaging and printing solutions provider–yes, that is Canon. 😉

DSCF2617

DSCF2621

While cocktails were being served and the main event inside the theater was waiting to happen, there were two mini workshops outside to keep us entertained and learning. They set up two nearly side by side fashion shoots for both professionals and enthusiasts of photography to practice capturing fashion. Some of the tips I overheard included communicating properly with your model which entails not being a mute photographer, as well as taking notice of the fashion pieces with keen eyes and making sure these key pieces rise above in the photos.

DSCF2627 DSCF2626

Above are some of the shots I took at the workshops. And I must say, I particularly like the ones with Maleficent–yes, I am calling her that–as I found her as the more interesting subject. 🙂 I guess it’s really like that, you can’t shoot something more beautifully than when you’re shooting something you truly find striking.

DSCF2680

Inside the theater, the main highlight of the night was the Shoot Out between Canon Crusaders of Light members, Sara Black and Wesley Villarica. I knew about this going in, but what I didn’t know was that it wasn’t Sara and Wesley who’d actually be the ones battling against each other, but their mentees which they chose from the audience.

DSCF2662

Both teams had one and the same subject, which was the lady in red, so as to make judging between their output easy as well as fair. What I noticed about these rivals were their differences in guiding their mentees and the model. Sara’s style felt more light and way less controlling than Wesley’s. Of course, that is not to say one is better than the other. I also noticed that Wesley had a knack of capturing mid-motion shots, so during his segment, the model seemed to do a lot of moving around. Very intriguing, I say. :p

DSCF2674

While I’m clearly no photographer, I still had a blast joining in the busy Open Shoot which happened simultaneously with the Shoot Out. Above is a photo I took of the lady in red, and it’s my favorite from the night. The details captured in this photo, which I liked a lot, were the model’s beautiful, angular jaw, her perfect pursing of the lips, and her seemingly contemplative glare. Also, not to forgot how her attire’s arm strings fell down very gracefully, along with her floral headpiece that served like a cherry on top of a sweet, sweet sundae!

***

To know more about Canon’s suite of imaging and printing solutions, check out the brand’s website, Facebook, and Twitter accounts.

Leave a Reply

