Friday Favorites: Five Beauty Products of the Week

FF main2

Today’s Friday Favorites consist of my most recent must-have beauty products, which I carry with me almost everywhere I go. And you’ll be finding out why.

1. Revlon Colorburst Balms

Revlon Colorburst Balms, while they are called as such, are nothing less of a lipstick as they are of a lip balm. I love their coverages, which vary depending on which kind you get. They have it in (a) matte, (b) stain, and (c) lacquer. I haven’t tried the last one because it seems very shimmery, but I can swear by the matte because it glides smoothly despite being matte and it doesn’t look dry at all when applied. As for the stain, it’s nice to have it when you’re only going for a light makeup. 🙂

So far, my current favorite is still the first one I bought, which is the matte Sultry Sulfureuse (#225). I love its color, because it’s so versatile and probably because I think it suits me well. Haha. I used it the whole time I was in Singapore. In fact, it was the only lip product I brought with me. (Pack light, right? LOL!) I applied and re-applied again and again, because like I said, it acts as a lip balm, too, and moisturizes your lips while it makes you pretty. 😉 I don’t know if it’s just me, but I felt like somehow, it kept me looking fresh during my vacation, despite the heat (!) and all the walking. Hehe.

I’ll be blogging about my Singapore trip really soon, so you can check out how this product fared with me there. But for now, here’s the best preview I can show:

IMG_4610

2. e.l.f. Studio Contouring Blush & Bronzing Powder 

Two things I love about the e.l.f. Studio Contouring Blush & Bronzing Powder in St. Lucia are its shades, which are peach/coral and bronze, and its very, very, very affordable price at $3 in the US and about 200-250 in PHP. 🙂

I remember going around the entire beauty section of the SM Store in Makati, in search for the perfect blush for this summer, and–tadaaa–I got exactly what I was looking for in two shades, and it’s also the cheapest one I found!

3. Etude House Dr. Mascara Fixer

Etude House’s Dr. Mascara Fixer is one of my best finds in Singapore. Actually, I could say that it found me and not the other way around… I was about to fly back to the Philippines, and still had a couple of Singapore Dollars to spend, and saw the Perfect Lash variant, which specializes in volumizing the lashes, at around 7 SGD each and got one, even though I wasn’t really looking to buy one.

To be honest, I’ve only tried this first one so far, but I know with much confidence in my heart, that the Super Longlash variant, which specializes in lengthening the lashes, will also be as awesome. I just bought this other one yesterday at SM Store (again, LOL) and it’s priced at PHP 348.00. A little pricier than they are in Changi Airport, but still not bad. I have a feeling these products don’t run out fast.

So I use this after curling my lashes but before putting on my mascara, and it works wonders in helping me curl my not-so-cooperative, fine lashes. I lalalalove them to such an extent that I kinda want to hoard them just in case Etude decides to stop producing them. Hehe.

4. Urban Decay Naked2 Basics

I have a thousand things to learn about putting on eyeshadows but the Naked2 Basics palette seems like a very good start. The shades are very safe for everyday use, and are tinted enough for those with fair to medium complexions. Plus, I very much love the fact that they come in matte, at least for most of the shades. I actually found a YouTube makeup tutorial using this palette, and I just can’t wait to master it in the same way! Here’s the video if you’re interested:

5. Batiste Dry Shampoo

Dry shampoos are heaven-sent, can I just say?! While I am grateful that my hair isn’t unruly and doesn’t need much combing or straightening, I honestly detest that it’s so limp and easily gets oily. Like during work days, by the time it’s 6 PM, my hair gets eeky that there were times in the past where I had no choice but to wash them in the sink, when I have after-office events to go to. Either that or I had to go to a salon, which was costly. So now that there’s dry shampoo, I’ve lessened my bad hair days down to half!

About Batiste, well, it’s the best brand of dry shampoo I’ve found so far. I’ve tried Lush’s which comes in loose powder, and I found it hard to apply, that I always made a mess while I was at it. I’ve also tried Dove’s which is also spray-type but it stiffens the hair like a hairspray. With Batiste, I seem to have gotten the best of both worlds. It’s spray-type, and it doesn’t make my hair stiff at all! The Blush (seen in the photo) smells really nice, if you want to also freshen your hair up a little. If you don’t like them scented, you can also go for the Original. I haven’t tried all kinds, yet, but so far, I just didn’t like the scent of Wild.

For those interested, unfortunately it’s not available in the Philippines, as far as I know. But you can buy them in Hong Kong. Particularly, in Bonjour. They price it at 40 HKD, which is not bad at all, because it lasts a while! 🙂 And I promise to you it’s really great! So when you’re there, I suggest you hoard!!! Hehe!

*** Happy Friday, you guys! ❤

Leave a Reply

