Throwback Tunesday

Because I’m someone who reminisces a little too much, I thought, why not blog about songs that shaped my childhood and teenage years? These songs go back to the time when, instead of being on YouTube, we’d be glued to Vid-OK, MTV, VH1, and Myx; when discmans were the best thing ever; when Britney vs. Christina was the biggest rivalry and when we thought Britney and Justin would actually last forever. This was pretty much when life was a little more cool. In its own way, of course. And I honestly could go on and on and on with my references, but to me, it all boils down to a significant time in our lives we can never replicate. Not anymore in this day and age. Not with a speedy internet, and our Instagram filters. And I will always go back to these songs because these songs are and will always be attached to that school we grew up in, that fashion we thought would always be in, those friends we kept and those we didn’t, and again, the list goes on. So without further adieu, here are some of the songs I’m talking about:

1. Michelle Branch – Everywhere

No matter how hard I tried, this song was bound to come first. Michelle Branch was my idol.

Her existence made me ask my dad for a guitar, which I never learned to use, and for voice lessons, in which I kept asking my teacher to skip vocalizations because to me they were vocaliZZzzzZations. Haha. Regardless, Michelle Branch gave me my first pipe dream and I’m happy to say that it made me a sing a little bit better than before. 🙂

Oh, and Everywhere was probably one of my most overly played music videos ever! ❤

2. Ashlee Simpson – Pieces of Me

Shameful as it may be to admit, there was a time when I wanted to be a punk rock princess. And I thought Ashlee Simpson was the ultimate peg. #NoRegrets

3. NSYNC – It’s Gonna Be Me

NYSNC!! I’d go to their reunion concert in a heartbeat!

4. TLC – No Scrubs

This has got to be the ultimate girl-power song of the 90’s.

5. M2M – Don’t Say You Love Me

I love how catchy their songs were! Is it safe to say Taylor Swift followed in their footsteps?

6. Hanson – MMMBop

Mmmbop, ba duba dop Ba du bop, ba duba dop Ba du bop, ba duba dop Ba du Yeah Mmmbop, ba duba dop Ba du bop, Ba du dop Ba du bop, Ba du dop Ba du Yeah

7. Spice Girls – Wannabe

Who run the world? (Spice) Girls!

8. Aaron Carter – I’m All About You

So before Justin Bieber, there was Aaron Carter. All hail their cute faces and nasal voices!

Mockery aside, though, I actually swooned everytime I saw this video back in high school. Hehe.

9. Hilary Duff – So Yesterday

Who has used this as their moving-on song? I know I have! :))

10. Britney Spears – Sometimes

And of course something from Britney! Between Britney and Christina, even if everyone says Christina has better talent, I was undeniably a Britney girl. And I chose a song from her first album, because it’ll always be my most favorite album of hers! So full of innocence!! LOL

* * *

How about you? What were your favorite songs from the past?

2 thoughts on “Throwback Tunesday

Leave a Reply

